logo nascimbene award

logo nascimbene award

Edited by the MARIO NASCIMBENE INSTITUTE In collaboration with the Italian Cultural Society. 



Headquarters: areté | business center Contrada Colle S. Giacomo n. 1, 66036 Orsogna (Chieti) - Italy

Tax code and VAT number 07214111002 

Privacy Policy


Eighth edition of the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD kicks off

25/04/2013 01:52

Press Office


Eighth edition of the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD kicks off

Jury chaired by director Francisco José Fernandez.

Jury chaired by director Francisco José Fernandez | Entries open until 16 May 2013

Now in its eighth edition, the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD, the International Competition of Music for Film that has been held in Abruzzo since 2002, has become a certain point of reference and one of the few opportunities to showcase one's talent for many composers approaching music for film. The Società Italiana di Cultura in collaboration with MusicArte International - Cultura e Spettacolo, with the moral patronage of the Accademia del Cinema Italiano - Premi David di Donatello and with the patronage and contribution of the Assessorato alle Politiche Culturali della Regione Abruzzo announces the new edition of the award dedicated to Mario Nascimbene (Milan 1913 - Rome 2002), author of over 400 soundtracks for Italian and international cinema and for directors such as Fellini, Rossellini, Antonioni, Vidor, Ustinov, Mankiewicz, De Santis, Zurlini, Lizzani. He was the first Italian composer to work for Hollywood.
The Competition, directed and conceived by Andrea Mascitti, will take place from 3 to 5 June 2013 for the Selection phase and on 7 June 2013 for the Final phase, which will be held at the "Antonio Di Jorio" Theatre in Atessa (Chieti). The Award Jury will be presided over by director Francisco José Fernandez, author of Ti voglio bene Eugenio, an authentic cinematographic masterpiece starring Giancarlo Giannini and Jacques Perrin. For his masterful performance, Giancarlo Giannini was awarded the David di Donatello for Best Actor in 2002. Also part of the Award Jury will be composer Umberto Scipione, author of the soundtracks for films such as Benvenuti al Sud and Benvenuti al Nord directed by Luca Miniero and Il Principe abusivo directed by Alessandro Siani, Marco Werba author of numerous soundtracks including Giallo directed by Dario Argento, actor Marco Leonardi, memorable protagonist together with Salvatore Cascio in Giuseppe Tornatore's film Nuovo Cinema Paradiso, which won an Oscar for best foreign film, and starring in numerous other films such as Dal tramonto all'alba 3 directed by Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino and C'era una volta in Messico alongside Antonio Banderas and Johnny Depp, as well as TV series such as Don Matteo, Elisa di Rivombrosa, Il capo dei capi, L'ultimo padrino, Squadra antimafia - Palermo oggi, Massimo Magri, cellist extraordinaire and Director of the Conservatorio "Luisa D'Annunzio" in Pescara and Gino Santercole, composer of the soundtracks of Adriano Celentano's films, actor, songwriter and author of unforgettable songs such as Una carezza in un pugno and Svalutation performed by Celentano himself. Composers of any nationality wishing to take part in the competition must register by 16 May 2013, in accordance with the new Rules and Regulations available on the Competition website at www.nascimbeneaward.com.
The artists will be asked to provide an unedited musical commentary of some scenes from the film Barabba directed by Richard Fleischer, starring Jack Palance, Vittorio Gassman, Silvana Mangano and Anthony Quinn and from the film Ti voglio bene Eugenio directed by Francisco José Fernandez. The sequences will be no longer than five minutes. They will be examined by a Selection Jury, formed by Fernandez himself (President), Andrea Mascitti and Marco Werba. The five best works will be admitted to the final on Friday 7 June 2013 and judged by the Award Jury. From 9.30 p.m. onwards, the final event will take place, with the viewing of the five finalist works and the awarding of the winner, who will receive a scholarship of 2,500 euro and a sculpture created by Maestro Giuseppe Liberati from Abruzzo based on a design by artist Gabriella Titotto. The winner of the MARIO NASCIMBENE AWARD will be notified to film production companies. The event will be presented by Michele Cucuzza, a well-known radio and television journalist, author of numerous books, and current host and author of the 'Radio2 days' programme on Rai Radiodue.

Create Website with flazio.com | Free and Easy Website Builder